Estrutura Organizacional

    Inter-Country Support Teams

    Inter-Country Support Teams 

    The operations of the Regional Office are decentralized through three Inter-country Support Teams (ISTs) based in Harare, Libreville and Ouagadougou. Each IST is headed by a Coordinator and is composed of a multidisciplinary staff. The mission of the ISTs is to:

    • enhance AFRO's technical support to countries for scaling up proven public health interventions; and
    • strengthen partnerships with UN agencies, regional economic communities and other stakeholders.

    The IST for Central Africa covers 10 countries: Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Sao Tome and Principe.

    The IST for Eastern and Southern Africa covers 20 countries: Botswana, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Seychelles, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

    The IST for West Africa covers 17 countries: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

    WHO Regional Office


    WHO Regional Office 

    The WHO Regional Office for Africa is located in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo. The Regional Office is headed by the WHO Regional Director for Africa, who is elected for a period of five years by the delegates from African Member States during the Regional Committee and endorsed by the WHO Executive Board.

    WHO/AFRO Organizational Structure (September 2016)

    WHO Country & Liaison Offices

    WHO Country & Liaison Offices

    The Director-General and the Regional Director are represented in the 47 Member States of the African Region by a WHO Representative (WR) or a WHO Liaison Officer, respectively heading a WHO Country Office (WCO) or a WHO Liaison Office (WLO). The relations between the WHO and respective Member States are defined in a Basic Agreement.

    The WCOs/WLOs support countries in reaching their national health goals and in contributing to global and regional public health action. They draw on the experiences in the countries in building a body of public health knowledge that can benefit the rest of the world.

    The WHO Country Office is at the centre of the WHO's mechanism for providing technical cooperation to countries as per the Country Cooperation Strategy (CCS). The CCS is a medium-term strategy that guides WHO's work at the country level under the leadership of the WHO Representative.

    Organizational Chart

    Chart Organizational Structure
    For smooth and efficient implementation of the Organization's programme and budget, the WHO Regional Director for Africa decides on an appropriate organizational structure and functioning for the Secretariat in the region. The Secretariat comprises three levels: the Regional Office, Inter-country Support Teams and WHO Country Offices and Liaison Offices.